Thursday, September 23, 2010
Typically, an employer will require employees to refuse any gift, meal or offer of entertainment from a vendor, client or other business contact if the item exceeds a certain nominal monetary value, such as $10.
Thursday, September 23, 2010
Early involvement by counsel enables the employee to gain clarity and to develop a plan while still employed.
Sunday, September 19, 2010
Dallas labor and employment law attorney Keith Clouse notes that employers may protect confidential information by entering into non-disclosure agreements with employees.
Wednesday, September 15, 2010
The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals recently reversed summary judgment for plan participants in an ERISA matter.
Monday, September 13, 2010
What happens when an employee who has saved personal data on a company-owned computer is fired or laid off?
Sunday, September 12, 2010
Employment counsel may be able to obtain a temporary restraining order to preserve the employer's rights and to prevent the ex-employee from taking
Tuesday, September 7, 2010
Avoid conducting personal business on a company-owned computer.
Monday, September 6, 2010
While many terminations are handled without much fuss, if an employer believes a termination could be difficult, the employer would be wise to contact employment law counsel prior to acting.
Sunday, August 29, 2010
Money alone fails as adequate consideration for a non-compete agreement.
Friday, August 27, 2010
The Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division recently issued a Fact Sheet to provide general information on this requirement.
Sunday, August 22, 2010
An employer can require an employee to take an unpaid lunch break, provided the employer completely relieves the employee of any work-related duties
Friday, August 20, 2010
The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals recently ruled that a worker was an independent contractor—not an employee—and thus not entitled to overtime pay under the Fair Labor Standards Act.