Tuesday, August 17, 2010
If it appears that the parties are not going to resolve their issues before one party files a lawsuit, the parties may be in for a long legal battle.
Sunday, August 15, 2010
Employees do not always need to comply with an employer's heightened notice policy to maintain Family Medical Leave Act protection.
Monday, August 2, 2010
The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals recently affirmed summary judgment in a dispute regarding a Texas employment agreement.
Sunday, August 1, 2010
Keith Clouse, a Dallas attorney who advises employers on employment-related issues, believes that an employer can minimize its exposure to employment lawsuits by simply treating its employees fairly and with respect during the termination process.
Sunday, July 25, 2010
If the parties are like most parties to litigation, they will resolve their dispute with a settlement agreement instead of proceeding to trial.
Wednesday, July 21, 2010
Non-compete lawyer Keith Clouse notes that the Dallas Court of Appeals recently affirmed summary judgment for a group of physicians against their employer.
Sunday, July 18, 2010
An executive must ensure that an agreement complies with 409A or be willing to pay the additional taxes.
Tuesday, July 13, 2010
If an employee seeks to recover unpaid overtime compensation via a court action against the employer, the employee may recover a liquidated damages award.
Sunday, July 11, 2010
The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals recently ruled against a plaintiff on his disability discrimination claim.
Monday, July 5, 2010
The United States Department of Labor recently clarified a definition found in the Family and Medical Leave Act.
Saturday, July 3, 2010
The United States Supreme Court recently ruled on an arbitration agreement issue in the employment context.
Saturday, June 26, 2010
Most employers recognize that they can be held liable under Title VII for the actions of their employees; however, not all employers realize that they may also be held liable under Title VII for the sexually harassing acts of a non-employee.